One of Seven & the Big Six-Oh

Strong wifi is a bit of a rarity here in Zimbabwe. So while I’ve got it I thought I’d provide a brief update on my travels in lieu of the normal, full-fledged posts of witty, brilliant travel insight that I usually write.

Yesterday morning my wife and I visited Victoria Falls, one of the seven natural wonders of the world (I’ve been to three others as well: the Grand Canyon, Great Barrier Reef, & Harbor of Rio de Janiero). The face of the falls totals about a mile in length, so it is impossible to capture the whole thing in one shot, even if there wasn’t so much mist in the way. Like everything else I’ve experienced in Zimbabwe, this was far better than expected. My advice for seeing the Falls is the same as for seeing the country: just come.

After touring the falls, we took a tour of the Victoria Falls Bridge built some 109 years ago. To do this, we had to enter into Zambia which is now the 60th country I’ve visited so far. Walking the catwalk allowed us some more great views of the falls and the impressive Batoka Gorge which it straddles. Again, pictures just don’t do justice to what the scene is really like. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

So that’s it for now. This morning we’re off to Botswana because I’m ready for number 61.

IMG_0326.JPG

IMG_0321.JPG

IMG_0341.JPG

Categories: Destinations | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

