Film Location Fun & Folly

I still remember the first time I saw a film location site in person. I was young—preteens for sure. My dad had a business trip in L.A. and was able to have me come along. After the event was over we stayed another few days, and being the wonderful dad that he is, he worked it out so that we could stay at the Bonaventure Hotel with its famous outdoor elevators that also played a pivotal role in what was at that time one of my favorite movies: Midnight Madness. I don’t imagine many will recall that kitschy film of 1980 starring a very young Michael J. Fox, but for me, riding that elevator and peering down to see if the pool chairs were still arranged to spell out the location of the finish line (they weren’t) was a moment of cinematic glory and high point in my life to that point. Too bad we can’t stay 12 forever.

 

Aging aside, I know that I still enjoy being in famous film locales regardless if I’ve ever seen them or not. Somehow the fact that a motion picture studio would choose to work their magic in a given place sort of gives weight to a location, as if an appearance on the big screen makes that site a celebrity in and of itself. While I’ve never been star-struck by celebrities in the human form, there have been a few locales that I would have asked for their autograph if only they could hold a pen. Below I’ve included some of my favorites. And for those of you who DO remember Midnight Madness, I challenge you to read on without the cheesy theme song running in your head.

 

Mehrangarh Fort, Johdpur, India

 

My wife Susie posing in front of Batman's "prison"

My wife Susie posing in front of Batman’s “prison”

It was during my visit in December 2011 that I learned that only a few months before, filming had wrapped up for the upcoming Batman installment The Dark Knight Rises. I had to wait until the following summer to see what they filmed, but sitting in the theater I felt a thrill of excitement when I saw Bruce Wayne climb out of a hole with this massive landmark behind him. I also got a charge of seeing Ra’s Al Ghul walking the same embattlements that I did with the ethereal blue city in the background. The urge to jump up and shout “I was there!” was strong, but I thought jumping up and shouting in a crowded theater might cause more trouble than it’s worth, so I savored my connection silently.

 

Deer Park Heights, Queenstown, New Zealand

 

In Front of the Remarkables Range, a.k.a. Rohan, Deer Park Heights, NZ

In Front of the Remarkables Range, a.k.a. Rohan, Deer Park Heights, NZ

It is impossible to visit New Zealand and not stumble across one or more locations used in Peter Jackson’s adaptations of Tolkien’s Middle Earth. In a game park across from the activity-packed town of Queenstown in the southwestern corner of the South Island, these sloping mountainsides of grassy tussock, rocky outcroppings and small tarns with the snow-covered Remarkables Range in the background, doubled for the land of Rohan and featured prominently in the film The Two Towers. It’s a fun place to spend an afternoon with some gorgeous scenery. These days it is also decidedly orc-free, which makes traveling a lot easier.

 

The Lagoon of Bora Bora, French Polynesia

 

Lagoon of Bora Bora, French Polynesia

Lagoon of Bora Bora, French Polynesia

While I wasn’t crazy about the movie Couples Retreat, I was absolutely bonkers over the magnificent setting on Bora Bora. In a time of CGI and special effects, none are needed for the lagoon, which is arguably the most appealing body of water in the world. The movie was made long after I had been there, but I enjoyed seeing it again if only to validate my previously formed opinions.

 

There are many more places I can list but I think I’ve made my point. Having something from the silver screen on your camera’s viewfinder is one of the joys of travel. And sometimes it is that one scene in a movie you love that will send you on a trip many thousands of miles away. Is it silly? Yes. Is it fun? Sure it is, and it’s just another reason to get out into the big wide world.

 

Is there a location made famous in a movie that gave you a thrill to visit in person? Share it here! And if you remember Midnight Madness please share it here as well!

Categories: Anecdotes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Film Location Fun & Folly

  1. Cynthia Marchessault

    Fantastic photos and narration Ben. I love how you describe your travels along with your lovely wife. I look forward to your emails and hope that some day you can come and visit AR. There are so many beautiful sights here, it is truly natural beauty.
    BTW, I have the dvd of Midnight Madness. Love that movie!

    Like

    • Just a matter of opportunity. Ever thought of making your own blog to showcase the area & your own photos?

      Kudos on owning the movie. Truly a classic

      Like

Blog at WordPress.com.

